Back to School

It has been too long since I last posted on my blog, due to being in California, and I’m happy to be back! Even though we don’t like to hear it, school is just around the corner! I wanted to share some of my tips and tricks for preparing for the school year, including organization, school shopping, and some healthy habits.

Organization

When school starts the last thing you want to think about is a cluttered room. So don’t, take a few hours, or a day in my case and get out with the old, and in with the new!

Step 1: Go through all of your clothes

Clean out your closets, dressers, or whatever you have. This can be difficult, especially for me because I always think “What if I need to wear this one day?”  Truth is, if you haven’t worn it in a year you’re not going to wear it. Also get rid of any clothing that either doesn’t fit or you don’t feel confident in.  You will not wear clothing if you don’t feel beautiful in it. During this process you can also get a feel of what clothing you need for the new school year.

There are many things you can do with your unwanted clothes, shoes, and accessories.

  1. Donate them to a local thrift shop.
  2. Hand them down to a younger family member or friend.
  3. If it’s gently used or new, try selling it online or in a garage sale.

Step 2: Go through miscellaneous drawers

Personally I went through my makeup, lotions and perfumes, hair and skin care products, nail polish, pictures, papers, pencils, coloring tools, and books. All things to keep in mind when organizing. It feels so much better that I don’t have any junk drawers and everything I own has a place and isn’t crammed. Just turn on some music and think about the finished product and you won’t have any issues finishing this task.

Step 3: Clear out your phone

We all have loaded hundreds or even thousands of pictures, some new tunes, and countless apps to entertain us this summer. It always feels so good to go through and delete things to create more storage and make you feel organized. A way to keep all of your pictures on your phone without taking up so much space is an app called Dropbox. You can upload your photos to the app then delete them from your camera roll. Your pictures are uploaded to your account and can be accessed from any device that’s compatible with Dropbox, such as your computer.

Organizing always makes me feel so much better, like I lifted a load off of my shoulders. Once I organize my bedroom it motivates me to keep it clean because I spent so much time on it and I love the way it feels.

School Shopping 

The big thing to remember when shopping is to find clothing that YOU love, and feel beautiful in. Another thing to keep in mind is the dress code. As much as it can be a struggle it is not impossible, you can still dress modest and cute. The two rules most students struggle with is having fingertip length shorts and covering their shoulders. No worries because I have ways to make these rules easy to follow. Some cardigans are great but other times they can be too warm, especially since my school doesn’t have air conditioning. Kimonos are a must because they are light weight, fun, and easy to throw on in the morning. These are a few ways I style mine:

  

 
Don’t be afraid to dress them up either, a skirt or dress would be a perfect combination with a Kimono.

I styled my outfits above with finger tip length shorts, I buy mine from American Eagle, Abercrombie, and Aeropostale. You can still achieve a cute outfit without wearing short shorts. Below I have styled the same outfit but with different length shorts:

IMG_2489Finger tip length shorts   FullSizeRender (14)Short Shorts

When buying school supplies always go to the store with a list. If you’re like me and don’t go with a list you will end up buying things you don’t need. Remember to reuse supplies you had last year such as scissors, gently used folders, highlighters, or anything that didn’t get ripped. Every year I buy binders and folders before the year starts. This year I’m going to try something new so I get the best use of my backpack space and don’t spend money I don’t have to. On the first day of school I am going to bring a notebook, pencils, and a folder so I can write down exactly what I need for each class.

Healthy habits 

I am not a health expert but I have done research and know quite a bit about the subject. I always try to be as healthy as I can but of course I’m not going to deny a trip to Whit’s or a cheeseburger and fries. Of course it’s not good to have those things everyday but it’s totally okay to reward yourself every once in awhile. Eating healthy has so many benefits. First of all it is SO good for your body and its makes you feel better, you will notice that you will have more energy, which leads to a better mood!  Also doing some sort of physical activity every day is a great habit to get into. Find a workout that is best for you, it could be taking a walk, jump roping, or even an ab workout. All of those things are great for your body and will make you feel better than ever. It is so important to drink lots of water, especially with all the heat. Bring a water bottle to school so you are drinking constantly throughout the day.

I hope some of these tips and tricks help you get back to school ready! Have a great rest of your summer!

From my Heart to Yours, MademoisELLE

Leave a comment